Rejecting Stagnation



Two things

There have been two things recently that have bled into my thinking from many different places.

1) Connections with people: My brief alienation from people after being overwhelmed really brought to my attention how painful prolonged solitude can be. And how much it bothered me that I didn’t understand why. So I decided that I would learn something more about the ‘objective’ concept of loneliness. After some milling around in some books, I’ve been very impressed with Flow by Mihaly Csikszentmahalyi. There are a few just plain awesome quotes and chapt.8 on “enjoying solitude and other people” is pretty accurate for what I’ve been confused about with social interaction. I’m still snooping around though.

this was a personal favorite: “The battle is not really against the self, but against the entropy that brings disorder to consciousness. It is really a battle for the self, it is a struggle for establishing control over attention.”

2) Mathematics: I swear… everywhere I go there is someone telling me about how awesome math is. Its funny, I got into this massive conversation with a friend of mine John where he talked about his lifes work with cracking the prime number code. His enthusiasm inspired me, and hes lent me a book that i look forward to reading so I can better understand his excitement. Not to mention 2 other random professors schooling me on the creative aspects of math. I am thinking that maybe something is telling me that I better start investigating or I will miss out on some really enjoyable feeling.

-Dominique

Leave a Reply

